Sunday, July 11, 2010

12th annual Surfside Seventies Results

1. Jay Larson
2. Paul Pugliesi
3. Mark Stewart
4. Scott "Pod" Banuelos
5. Joel Bonassissi
6. Lance Allbright

John Kissel Power Surfer Award- Bradie Shemke
Steve Adler Expression Session- Joe Paterno
Best Wipeout- Todd Horton
Best Barrel-Todd Roberts
Best Lipper- Scotty Myer
Best Cutback- Bob Bellamy

Best Up and Coming Grommets- Jake Baker. Zach Simpson
Best Mustache-Brad Sample

This years event really turned out magical. With no swell in the forecast, the waves came in and the conditions were glassy for the entire event. Tony Alvarado brought out some new beautiful shapes and the heats were stacked. 1976 World Champ Peter "PT" Townend surfed against grommet Jake Baker in a fun filled heat. The memory of John Kissel was in the air as the waves kept coming in and seemingly getting bigger. The technique and intensity of Jay Larson was unstoppable as he became the new Surfside Seventies champ. Close behind Jay was Paul Pugliesi who threw some incredible power turns. The "Expression Session"was about 20 minutes with about 20 guys out trying to get the best wave for the bamboo fin trophy and awards. Joe Paterno won over all the riders with his colorful wig and long sweeping left to the beach. Todd Horton beat out everyone with a spectacular wipeout...he'll be OK.

Thanks to everyone involved,

1 comment:

Paul Pluey Pugliesi said...

Paul Pugliesi here great comp stoked to be there.Just wanted to give u a heads up that the results were wrong .I acutually got 2nd but all the blogs and things that the 12 annual surfside seventies is on says 5th wanted to see if it can be changed.
Paul Pugliesi